National Awards

Each year Master Builders Australia acknowledges excellence in the building and construction industry through its prestigious National Excellence in Building and Construction Awards. Master Builders' National Awards are divided into a number of categories.

Nominations for the housing and commercial/industrial categories are submitted through State and Territory Master Builders associations which have their own awards processes. The State and Territory Award winners in their nominated categories (some categories are combined) become finalists for the National Awards and are judged accordingly.

The National Export Awards are sponsored by the Australian Made Campaign and recognise the outstanding export performance of members and others in the Australian building and construction industry in the export market.

The 2016 National Awards presentation dinner were held in the Great Hall, Parliament House, Canberra on Thursday 24 November 2016.  

The 2017 National Excellence in Building and Construction Awards will be presented as part of the National Conference on Saturday 25 November as the grand finale to an exciting conference in Hobart.

2016 finalists and winners are listed in our Building Australia Housing & Construction ebooks. 


2016 Winners

National Commercial Master Builder of the Year, Kane Constructions Pty Ltd, The Geelong Library & Heritage Centre, Victoria  
National Residential Master Builder of the Year, Adrian Zorzi, Western Australia  
 National Specialist Contractor of the Year, Fairbrother Joinery - Fairbrother Pty Ltd, Tasmania  
National President's Award, Built, 20 Martin Place, New South Wales  
National Apprentice of the Year, Damon Addison, Tasmania  
National Lifestyle Housing for Seniors Award – Retirement Villages/Independent Living, Taylor, HammondCare Miranda, New South Wales  
National Lifestyle Housing for Seniors Award – Aged Care Facilities, Sarah Constructions Pty Ltd, Southern Cross Care Mount Barker, Oakfield Lodge, South Australia  
National Export Award - Products and Manufacturing, D&D Technologies  
National Export Award - Emerging Exporter, Polysoft  
National Export Award - Building and Construction Contractors or Services, Cockram Projects Limited  
WoodSolutions National Young Builder of the Year, David Moyle, Victoria  
National Environment and Energy Efficiency Residential Building Award, Steele Associates Pty Ltd, New South Wales  
National Environment and Energy Efficiency Commercial Building Award, Built, 20 Martin Place, New South Wales  
National Alterations/Additions Award – under $200,000, Latrobe Valley Building Services Pty Ltd, Victoria  
National Alterations/Additions Award – $200,000 to $400,000, Nathan A Hore T/A N H Homes, Queensland  
National Alteration/Additions Award – $400,000 to $650,000, Nixon Build Pty Ltd T/A Nixon Build And Design, Queensland  
National Luxury Alterations/Additions Award - $650,000 to $1 million, CplusC Architectural Workshop, New South Wales  
National Luxury Alterations/Additions Award - over $1 million, Corella Construction Pty Ltd, Queensland  
National Display Home – under $250,000, Metricon Homes Pty Ltd, Cohen 28 Plantation, South Australia  
National Display Home – $250,000 to $350,000, McDonald Jones Homes Pty Ltd, Esperance, Queensland  
Toyota National Display Home – $350,000 to $500,000, Burbank, Palladium 4600, Victoria  
Toyota National Display Home – over $500,000, McLachlan Special Projects Pty Ltd, The Rosewood, Queensland   
National Project Home – under $350,000, J Co Constructions Pty Ltd, Queensland   
National Project Home – $350,000 to $500,000, Davies Construction (Tas) Pty Ltd, Tasmania   
National Project Home – $500,000 to $1 million, Larkin & Drought Builders, Victoria   
National Luxury Project Home – $1 million to $2 million, Oliver Kelly Construction, Tasmania   
National Luxury Project Home – over $2 million, Adrian Zorzi, Western Australia   
Cbus National Medium Density – 2 to 5 Dwellings, G A Ryan Developments Pty Ltd T/A Rycon Constructions, Noosaville Duplex, Queensland   
Cbus National Medium Density – over 5 Dwellings, Bellevue Building, Elevate Canopy Living, Australian Capital Territory   
Cbus National High Rise Apartment Building, Halikos Developments, H105 Hotel & Apartments, Northern Territory   
Office of the Federal Safety Commissioner National Excellence in Workplace Health and Safety Award, Built, Rialto Regeneration, Melbourne, Victoria   
National Commercial Historical Restoration/Renovation Award, Built, Old Treasury Building, Western Australia   
National Commercial/Industrial Construction Award – under $5 million, Vos Construction & Joinery Pty Ltd, Three Capes Track Huts, Tasmania   
National Commercial/Industrial Construction Award – $5 million to $10 million, Stephen Edwards Constructions Pty Ltd, Australian National Maritime Museum Warships Pavilion, New South Wales   
National Commercial/Industrial Construction Award – $10 million to $20 million, Lipman Pty Ltd, 580 George Street Lobby Refurbishment, New South Wales   
National Commercial/Industrial Construction Award – $20 million to $50 million, Kane Constructions Pty Ltd, The Geelong Library & Heritage Centre, Geelong, Victoria   
National Commercial/Industrial Construction Award – $50 million to $100 million, John Holland, Newcastle Courthouse Development, Newcastle   
National Commercial/Industrial Construction Award – over $100 million, Watpac Construction Pty Ltd, 180 Brisbane, Queensland   
Toyota National Civil/Infrastructure Award – under $25 million, Woden Contractors and Civil, Bridge and Wharf, Molonglo Link Bridge and Trunk Sewer Project, Australian Capital Territory   
Toyota National Civil/Infrastructure Award – over $25 million, John Holland Pty Ltd, Chaffey Dam Augmentation and Safety Upgrade, New South Wales   
National Education Facility Award, ADCO Constructions Pty Limited, Knox Grammar Senior Student's Academy, New South Wales   
National Health Facility Award - under $100 million, Lendlease Building Pty Ltd, Centre for Children's Health Research, Queensland   
National Health Facility Award - over $100 million, Hansen Yuncken Pty Ltd, Lyell McEwin Hospital Redevelopment Stage C, South Australia   
National Entertainment and Recreation Facility Award, Doric Contractors, City of Perth Library, Western Australia   



2015 National Award winners  | 2014 National Award winners | 2013 National Award winners | Images of 2013 conference & awards | 2012 National Award winners2011 National Award Winners